Child Abuse Reporting Requirements
Reporting Child Abuse in Boy Scouting
Step 1 - Notify the State Central Registry:
All reports of child abuse and neglect,
including those occurring in institutional settings such as child care centers,
schools, foster homes and residential treatment centers,
must be reported to the State Central Registry (SCR).
This is a toll-free, 24-hour, seven-days-a-week hotline.
Child Abuse Hotline (State Central Registry)
1-877 NJ ABUSE
Step 2 - Notfiy Patriot's Path Council Scout Executive:
Contact the Scout Executive at 973-765-9322.
Reporting Child Abuse to Council
CONTACTING THE COUNCIL
The Boy Scouts require immediate notification
to a Scout Executive whenever information about possible child abuse
in the Boy Scout program is uncovered. The current policy for after-hours
notification is to wait until the next business day and call the Council
Service Center at 973-765-9322.
The Scout Executive will insure that all state
reporting requirements have been met and will also take measures to
protect the youth in the Scouting movement.
If an immediate report is to be made due to extreme
urgency, a contact to the Office of Child Abuse Control should be
The Council should be contacted by leaving a
message on the Council Service Center answering machine. The "Suspected
Child Abuse Reporting Form" should be completed and submitted
to the Council.
Child Abuse Reporting Form
Reporting Child Abuse in New Jersey
In New Jersey, the law says that any person having reasonable cause to
believe that a
child has been subjected to abuse or acts of abuse should
immediately report this information to the State Central Registry (SCR).
If the child is in immediate danger, call 911 as well as
1-877 NJ ABUSE (1-877-652-2873).
A concerned caller does not need proof to report an allegation of
child abuse and can make the report anonymously.
When a report indicates that a child may be at risk,
an investigator from the Division of Child Protection and Permanency (
formerly Youth and Family Services) will promptly investigate the
allegations of child abuse and neglect within 24 hours of receipt of the report.
Immunity From Civil or Criminal Liability
Any person who, pursuant to the law, reports
abuse or neglect or testifies in a child abuse hearing resulting
from such a report is immune from any criminal or civil liability
as a result of such action.
Penalty For Failure to Report
Any person who knowingly fails to report suspected
abuse or neglect pursuant to the law or to comply with the provisions
of the law is a disorderly person and subject to a fine up to $1,000
or up to six months imprisonment, or both.
Page last updated: 03-01-2014 12:59 am